Learn More About SWE Mentoring Programs Jan. 21 & 23

January is National Mentoring Month, and we want to celebrate successful SWE Mentoring programs with you! Please join us on Day 1, Day 2 or on both days to learn more about mentoring programs. All SWE Members are welcome and encouraged to join!

Learn More About Swe Mentoring Programs Jan. 21 & 23Celebrate National Mentoring Month with us! Join us on either Day 1 or Day 2 of our Mentoring Meetup January 2021 SWE Mentoring FWG.

  • Day 1, Thursday, January 21st 3-4pm PST / 5-6pm CST / 6-7pm EST
  • Day 2, Saturday, January 23rd 8-9am PST/ 10-11am CST/ 11am-12pm EST

The Mentoring Facilitation Work Group (MFWG), under governance of the SWE Membership Committee, facilitates and increases the visibility of existing SWE mentoring programs and shares tools, resources and best practices. January is Mentoring Month, and we want to celebrate successful SWE Mentoring programs with you! Please join us on Day 1, Day 2 or on both days to learn more about mentoring programs. Please call in with questions! ** All SWE Members Welcome **

Agenda:

Day 1

  • Introductions
  • Presentations (10 minutes per program)
      • Mentoring Network (Abby Watson, Briana Aviles)
      • GradSWE (GradSWE community)
      • SWE Latinos AG (Yareni Lara)
      • SWE African American AG (Louvere Walker)
      • Engineering Working Moms (Felicia Green)
  • Breakout sessions (10 minutes)
      • Mentoring room 1 (Mentoring Network)
      • Mentoring room 2 (GradSWE)
      • Mentoring room 3 (SWE Latinos)
      • Mentoring room 4 (SWE African American)
      • Mentoring room 5 (Engineering Working Moms)

Register for Day 1 by using this link. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting. We will be using a zoom video conference. It is optional for you to share your video.

Day 2

  • Introductions
  • Presentations (10 minutes per program)
      • GradSWE (GradSWE community)
      • SWE Latinos AG (Yareni Lara)
      • SWE African American AG (Brittany Burnett & Louvere Walker)
      • Engineering Working Moms (Felicia Green)
  • Breakout sessions (10 minutes)
      • Mentoring room 1 (GradSWE)
      • Mentoring room 2 (SWE Latinos)
      • Mentoring room 3 (SWE African American)
      • Mentoring room 4 (Engineering Working Moms)

Register for Day 2 by using this link. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting. We will be using a zoom video conference. It is optional for you to share your video.

This is a great way to learn about and get involved in different mentoring programs at SWE. We are all in this COVID-19 situation together, so please come as you are!

Continue the conversation in our Facebook group.

Mentoring Facilitation Work Group

Tess Davis

Gisella Lamas

Cathy Meyn

Upekesha Addagatla Ngugi

Heather Rogers

Anthea Ochedikwu Udo


Related content:

 

Author(s) Information

  • Learn More About SWE Mentoring Programs Jan. 21 & 23 SWE mentoring

    Gisella Lamas

    Gisella Lamas is a chemical engineer who works as a lecturer at the University of Kentucky – Paducah Extended Campus. Gisella has been a SWE member since 2012. She volunteers for SWENext Programming and she is also an active member of the SWE Mentoring Facilitation Work Group providing collegiate resources since 2020.

>